First Crystals

So fleeting
The moments that happened so fleetingly,
The moments that I thought would last forever,
Shimmered into oblivion within seconds.
Those precious moments,
Forgotten within the blink of an eye
Even then I couldn’t do anything
And when you broke down beside me,
Tears adorned our eyes like crystals
Glinting, as if waiting to erase our memories into oblivion.

Even as we drift apart
I can feel your eyes getting wet.
Over time, those eyes
Those beautiful eyes still pull me into you.

Both of us wonder,
“Why was it us?”
While I trace your love,
Desperately chasing my eyes
Looking to comfort you
But I couldn’t see that face of yours,
Looking happy anymore
With me just listening to you.
The us, so similar but so different.

Slowly, you begin to ignore my stares
Even though I am waiting beside you
Missing and longing for your hand in mine
Tears adorn my eyes like crystals.

Even as we drift apart
I can feel your eyes getting wet.
Over time, those eyes
That pull me in
Were the first.

Like a kid who feels anxious
That he would finish his candy and none would be left,
I was afraid of the moment everything would go awry.
Though you ran leaps to me while I took baby steps,
You, now, turn your back towards me
And I miss you so bad.

Even though we peeled away the masks,
Hiding the mysterious truths in us,
Understanding each other hand in hand,
Nervous as we were,
You still keep your back turned
Without even the glint of a smile.
It was the first.

– Reshma Anil Kumar
IGNOU

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started